May 2, 2013

Raymond wins second Presidents’ Ring

The Calgary Stampeders are pleased to announce that for the second consecutive season, Keon Raymond is the recipient of the team’s prestigious Presidents’ Ring award. The veteran defensive back becomes just the fifth player to win the Presidents’ Ring in back-to-back seasons.

“I am so humbled and blessed to receive this award for a second straight year,” said Raymond, who joins Danny Barrett, Alondra Johnson, Jay McNeil and Henry Burris on the list of back-to-back winners. “It is a great honour and privilege to be recognized by my teammates in this manner. I thank them for their confidence in me and vow to continue to do my best to prove myself worthy of this award by my actions on and off the field.”

Raymond was given the 2011 Presidents’ Ring trophy at last year’s Fanfest.

The Presidents’ Ring has been presented annually since 1967 to the Stampeders player who best demonstrates excellence on and off the field. Raymond’s teammates selected him as the winner based on his in-game contributions, leadership, inspiration and motivational skills. Raymond will formally receive his ring at Fanfest on May 25.

In his fifth season with the club, Raymond was a CFL West Division and CFLPA all-star in 2012. He led the Stampeders and was tied for second in the league with five interceptions including one pick that he returned 100 yards for a touchdown. He also led Calgary with seven pass knockdowns and recorded 44 tackles, including two tackles for loss, and two sacks. As has been the case throughout his career, Raymond’s versatility was key for the Stamps as he was moved from cornerback to strong-side linebacker for the final month of the season when injuries depleted the defence.

Raymond, a St. Louis native who now lives in Calgary year-round, is an active member of the community. He is the Stampeders’ representative for Canadian Blood Services and often speaks at schools, churches and community centres.

“As a fan, I was already well aware of Keon’s abilities and accomplishments as a player,” said Stampeders president Gordon Norrie. “Since becoming president of the club, I’ve quickly learned that Keon is an even better person. The entire organization is very proud of Keon and I congratulate him on this well-deserved honour.”

Here is the complete list of Presidents’ Ring winners since the award was established 46 years ago. Hall-of-Famer Wayne Harris was the first winner of the honour and 29 different men have been presented with the award. Burris, Barrett and Stu Laird won the award on three occasions while two-time winners are Raymond, McNeil, Johnson, Harris, Allen Pitts, Lloyd Fairbanks, Bernie Morrison, Ed McAleney, James Sykes, Willie Burden and Jerry Keeling.

1967 Wayne Harris 1990 Danny Barrett
1968 Herm Harrison 1991 Lloyd Fairbanks
1969 Jerry Keeling 1992 Stu Laird
1970 Wayne Harris 1993 Andy McVey
1971 Jerry Keeling 1994 Allen Pitts
1972 Larry Robinson 1995 Stu Laird
1973 Rudy Linterman 1996 Danny Barrett
1974 John Helton 1997 Rocco Romano
1975 Willie Burden 1998 Mark McLoughlin
1976 Tom Forzani 1999 Allen Pitts
1977 Willie Burden 2000 Dave Dickenson
1978 James Sykes 2001 Alondra Johnson
1979 Ed McAleney 2002 Alondra Johnson
1980 James Sykes 2003 Joe Fleming
1981 Lloyd Fairbanks 2004 Jamie Crysdale
1982 Ed McAleney 2005 Jay McNeil
1983 Danny Bass 2006 Jay McNeil
1984 Lyall Woznesensky 2007 Henry Burris
1985 Bernie Morrison 2008 Henry Burris
1986 Bob Poley 2009 Henry Burris
1987 Bernie Morrison 2010 Rob Lazeo
1988 Stu Laird 2011 Keon Raymond
1989 Danny Barrett 2012 Keon Raymond

>> Click here to watch video of Raymond winning the Presidents’ Award