December 16, 2019

Stampeders Announce Schedule For 75th Anniversary Season

The Calgary Stampeders announce the game schedule for their 75th anniversary season.

The Stampeders were born in 1945 when the Western Interprovincial Football Union held playoffs after the league had suspended operations during World War II. Calgary’s first regular season took place in 1946. Look for upcoming announcements about exciting plans to celebrate the Stamps’ 75th anniversary.

Here are some key points of the Red and White’s 2020 schedule:

  • First action at McMahon Stadium will be on Saturday, May 30 when the Stampeders play host to the Saskatchewan Roughriders in a pre-season contest
  • The regular season kicks off on Friday, June 12, with the Montreal Alouettes providing the opposition at McMahon. It will mark the earliest start to a regular season in Stampeders history
  • The home-opener is the first of four Friday home games during the regular season
  • The CFL’s Thursday Night Football series is back for another season including two dates at McMahon Stadium – June 18 against BC and Aug. 20 against Winnipeg
  • One of the great traditions in football continues on Sept. 7 when the Stamps play host to their archrivals – the Edmonton Eskimos – in the Labour Day Classic
  • In addition to the two Thursday Night Football dates, four Fridays and the Labour Day Monday contest, the Stamps’ home schedule includes a pair of 5 p.m. Saturday starts
  • The 18-game regular season is once again spread over 21 weeks, with three byes for each team. Calgary’s byes are in Weeks 8, 12 and 17
  • The defending Grey Cup-champion Winnipeg Blue Bombers make two regular-season visits to Calgary – Aug. 20 and Sept. 25 – while the Stamps make two trips to Vancouver to face the BC Lions
  • The regular season concludes on Oct. 30 at McMahon as the Stamps renew their classic rivalry with the Saskatchewan Roughriders
  • For local fans looking to make plans on long weekends, the Stamps will be on the road or on a bye during the periods that Canada Day, Heritage Day and Thanksgiving will be observed

The division playoffs will be played on Nov. 8 and Nov. 15 and the Grey Cup will be played in Regina on Nov. 22.

All times Mountain


Saurday, May 30 2 p.m. vs Saskatchewan
Friday, June 5 8 p.m. at BC

Regular season

Friday, June 12 8 p.m. vs Montreal
Thursday, June 18 7 p.m. vs BC
Friday, June 26 6:30 p.m. at Winnipeg
Saturday, July 4 5 p.m. at Toronto
Friday, July 10 5:30 p.m. at Hamilton
Friday, July 17 5 p.m. at Montreal
Saturday, July 25 5 p.m. vs Hamilton
Saturday, Aug. 8 5 p.m. vs Toronto
Saturday, Aug. 15 8 p.m. at BC
Thursday, Aug. 20 7 p.m. vs Winnipeg
Monday, Sept. 7 2:30 p.m. vs Edmonton
Saturday, Sept. 12 5 p.m. at Edmonton
Friday, Sept. 18 8 p.m. at Saskatchewan
Friday, Sept. 25 7:30 p.m. vs Winnipeg
Saturday, Oct. 10 5 p.m. at BC
Friday, Oct. 16 7 p.m. vs Ottawa
Friday, Oct. 23 5 p.m. at Ottawa
Friday, Oct. 30 7:30 p.m. vs Saskatchewan


Sunday, Nov. 8 2:30 p.m. Western Semi-Final
Sunday, Nov. 15 2:30 p.m. Western Final

Grey Cup

Sunday, Nov. 22 4 p.m. Grey Cup in Regina