November 23, 2021

Wall Is 2021 Presidents’ Ring Winner

Defensive back Jamar Wall is the 2021 recipient of the Calgary Stampeders’ Presidents’ Ring award.

The Presidents’ Ring has been presented annually since 1967 to the Stampeders player who best demonstrates excellence on and off the field as voted by the players. Candidates are judged on their in-game contributions, leadership, inspiration and motivational skills.

“It is such an honour to be receiving this award,” said Wall. “Thank you so much to the teammates who voted for me – I value every one of you. I’ve seen many great guys receive this ring, which says and means a lot. This year has been full of different challenges and obstacles for all of us, and it truly means a lot that my leadership has been recognized by so many in the locker room.”

A nine-year veteran with 163 regular-season and playoff appearances as a member of the Red and White, Wall started the 2021 season as the team’s SAM defensive back but suffered an injury in the season-opener. Once healthy, he made the move to safety and was a key part of a defence that helped turn the team’s year around after a slow start as Calgary qualified for the playoffs for a 16th consecutive season.

In seven games this season, Wall had 30 tackles including a tackle for loss and one knockdown. In a Week 9 game against Saskatchewan, Wall moved into the franchise’s top five in career tackles.

Wall has twice served as a team captain during his Stampeders career and was a member of Calgary’s Grey Cup-championship teams in 2014 and 2018. In 151 career regular-season games since joining the Red and White in 2012, the Texas Tech alum has 441 defensive tackles including 10 tackles for loss, six special-teams stops, 18 interceptions, 49 knockdowns, five sacks, five forced fumbles and six fumble recoveries.

In addition to his on-field contributions, Wall is active in the community, most notably as a participant in the Every Yard Counts program, which features player visits to the Alberta Children’s Hospital the day before every Stampeders home game. While Covid protocols in 2021 prevented in-person trips to the hospital, Wall and his teammates still connected with patients through Zoom calls.

Hall-of-Famer Wayne Harris was the first winner of the Presidents’ Ring and 36 different men have been presented with the award. Henry Burris, Danny Barrett and Stu Laird each won the award on three occasions while two-time winners are Rob Cote, Keon Raymond, Jay McNeil, Alondra Johnson, Wayne Harris, Allen Pitts, Lloyd Fairbanks, Bernie Morrison, Ed McAleney, James Sykes, Willie Burden and Jerry Keeling.