November 1, 2022

Lemon Is Best In West

Calgary Stampeders defensive end Shawn Lemon is the West Division finalist for the Canadian Football League’s Most Outstanding Defensive Player award.

Lorenzo Mauldin IV of the Ottawa Redblacks is the East Division finalist and the league winner will be announced on Nov. 17 as part of Grey Cup week festivities in Regina. The division finalists are determined by voting members of the Football Reporters of Canada (FRC) as well as one vote from each division team’s coaching staff.

Lemon shared the CFL lead with five forced fumbles in 2022 and he had the league’s second-best total in sacks with 14. Lemon matched his career high in sacks and climbed to 15th place on the CFL’s all-time list with 92 career QB takedowns.

The 11-year veteran also had 28 defensive tackles this season including one tackle for loss, two fumble recoveries and four pass knockdowns.

Stampeders have been a finalist for the Most Outstanding Defensive Player a total of 10 times since the award was created to replace the Most Outstanding Lineman award in 1974, with Singleton, John Grace, Joe Fleming and John Helton all going on to win the award.

Calgary’s division finalists for Most Outstanding Defensive Player
2022 Shawn Lemon
2017 Alex Singleton*
2013 Charleston Hughes
2010 Juwan Simpson
2005 John Grace*
2004 John Grace
2003 Joe Fleming*
1998 Alondra Johnson
1983 Danny Bass
1974 John Helton*

* Won CFL award