Stampeders retro logo

Since 2009, the Calgary Stampeders have been pleased to present the Stan Schwartz — Heart of a Champion Awards.

In the city of Calgary, there are hundreds of youth playing high school football every year. These kids all have stories of their own. To capture the spirit of amateur football, the Calgary Stampeders are proud to present the Stan Schwartz – Heart of a Champion Award.

The Heart of a Champion Award is not about who is the most talented. It’s about success as a person. There are always awards for most valuable, most improved and outstanding performance, but it is much more difficult to recognize the underappreciated and the inspiring. That’s the goal of the Stan Schwartz Award.


The recipient of the Stan Schwartz Award will be a Calgary Senior High School Athletic Association student-athlete. The award is based on a number of factors not specific to contribution on the field including:

  • Contribution to the team off the field
  • Contribution to the community
  • Contribution to the school
  • Personal perseverance
  • Athletic perseverance

This award is based on the recommendation of high school coaches and faculty.

Schwartz is a former Stamps coach and longstanding executive wh is currently the Executive Vice-President/Consultant to the Executive Committee. He was inducted onto the Calgary Stampeder Football Club’s Wall of Fame in 2004 and into the Alberta Sports Hall of Fame in 2005 for his continued support of football in southern Alberta.

Year Div. I Div. II Div. III
2009 Jesse Hiebert
Lord Beaverbrook
Jeffrey Vela
Crescent Heights
Benjamin Bullock
Bishop Carroll
2010 Mark Villani
St. Francis
Conrad Pittman
John G. Diefenbaker
Luke McCorquodale
Bishop Carroll
2011 Robbie Prokop
Western Canada
Robert Banks
Bishop McNally/Father Lacombe
Kyle Doubell
Bishop Carroll
2012 Phillip Miskin
Notre Dame
Ben Reid
Tyler Thomson
Bishop Carroll
2013 Devon Lee
Notre Dame
Kendrick Ankamah
Bishop McNally
Galen Beerbaum
Crescent Heights
2014 Peter Zajdel
Henry Wise Wood
Antwan Smith
Crescent Heights
Kiyan Davachi
Winston Churchill
2015 Kelton Bailey
Henry Wise Wood
Liam Nightengale
Western Canada
Colin Ferronato
Robert Thirsk
2016 Javen Kaechele
Crescent Heights 
George Gagnon
St. Mary’s
Fischer Phillips
Western Canada