C0-chairman & CFL Governor

Ken King is president and Chief Executive Officer of the Calgary Flames Limited Partnership, which became the majority ownership group and operating partner of the Calgary Stampeders on Mar. 29, 2012. As president and CEO of the Calgary Sports and Entertainment Corporation, he has leadership roles in the Stampeders, Flames, Calgary Hitmen and Calgary Roughnecks and represents the organization as Alternate Governor of the NHL and Governor of the CFL, WHL and NLL.

Born and raised in Hanley, Sask., King assumed his current role with the Flames in 2001 following a successful 30-year career in the newspaper business that included senior executive positions at the Calgary Sun and Calgary Herald.

King has a tremendous love for sports and he recognizes the obligations professional teams owe to their devoted fans. Throughout his career, he has been acknowledged for his keen business sense, innovative marketing, establishment of healthy corporate relationships and spirited community leadership. He knows great achievements are possible when aspiration and determination are combined with a visionary approach, meaningful intentions, responsible actions and, above all, consideration for others.

King’s current community involvement includes the TELUS Community Board, the Calgary Airport Authority Board, the RESOLVE Campaign (Calgarians Committed to Change), the Calgary Sport Tourism Authority Board, the Calgary Exhibition and Stampede, the Borden Ladner Gervais CIS Athlete of the Year Awards Committee and the Rotary Club of Calgary. Previously, he has supported the Calgary Prostate Cancer Centre, the REACH Campaign, the Calgary Philharmonic Society and the No Ka Oi Ranch Foundation in addition to being a past chairman of the Calgary Chamber of Commerce.

He was the recipient of an Alberta Centennial Medal for outstanding contributions to the province, the Queen’s Golden Jubilee Medal for community service, the commemorative medal for the 125th Anniversary of the Confederation of Canada and was honoured as B’Nai Brith Man of the Year in 1991.