April 25, 2018

A Calgary Grey Cup History

Photo by Mark Shannon

Since becoming a CFL city in 1945, Calgary has hosted four Grey Cups.

However, it took 30 years before the city was able to host the prestigious game. Calgary hosted its first championship in 1975 and has since presented to the big event in 1993, 2000, and 2009.

Let’s take a look back at each of the Grey Cup games played in Calgary:

1975, Edmonton Eskimos vs. Montreal Alouettes

In the first Grey Cup at McMahon Stadium, the Eskimos and Alouettes faced some tough weather conditions, dealing with -15 C and 25-km winds. That played a factor as the tilt was one of only three touchdown-less Grey Cups games. On the leg of Dave Cutler, Edmonton was able to squeak out a 9-8 victory.

1993, Edmonton Eskimos vs. Winnipeg Blue Bombers

To begin the 81st Grey Cup, the Canadian and American anthems were sung as the CFL wanted to recognize the league’s first American-based franchise, the Sacramento Gold Miners. With six field-goals made in the tilt – tying a single-game Grey Cup record – Edmonton kicker Sean Fleming was awarded the Grey Cup Most Valuable Canadian Award as his team won 33-23.

2000, BC Lions vs. Montreal Alouettes

In a close game between the Lions and Alouettes, the difference in BC’s 28-26 win was a pair of single points scored on a pair of missed field-goals in the first half of the game. Lions running back Robert Drummond posted 122 rushing yards on 10 carries and was named the game’s Most Valuable Player.

2009, Montreal Alouettes vs. Saskatchewan Roughriders

With both teams playing in their 17th Grey Cup, it was the Alouettes who were able to come out on top. After being down 27-11 in the fourth quarter, quarterback Anthony Calvillo and his team put up two big touchdowns and then got within field-goal range with 10 seconds left on the clock. Kicker Damon Duval split the uprights and gave Montreal the 28-27 win. The 97th Grey Cup was watched by 6.1-million Canadian viewers, making it the most-watched telecast in Canada for 2009.